OKX held $22.96 billion in primary assets in its 46th Proof of Reserves report, verified on August 11, 2026. The exchange has published one of these reports every month since November 2022, an unbroken run, and the August 2026 edition put Bitcoin’s reserve ratio at 111%, the widest headroom of any asset in the OKX exchange statistics below.
These figures anchor a wider dataset. The report lines up the Proof of Reserves series across five dated reports and sets each asset’s reserve ratio beside spot and perpetual-futures turnover. It breaks out on-chain custody by blockchain, as tracked by DefiLlama. It then maps where OKX stands against the European licensing regime now governing EEA traders.
Custody and trading tell different stories. OKX’s perpetual futures venue turned over $21,932,962,289 in 24 hours against $1,833,985,162 on the spot book, a gap of roughly twelve to one. The figures below cover reserve totals across five dated reports, per-asset ratios, volume and open interest, on-chain balances by blockchain, and the European licence position that now separates OKX from several rival crypto exchanges.
Key Takeaways
- OKX’s Proof of Reserves total peaked at $35.4 billion in the 36th report and has fallen in every report captured since.
- Reserve ratios have stayed above 100% throughout, with OKB sitting exactly at 100% and Bitcoin the highest at 111% in August 2026.
- Perpetual futures dominate the venue, with CoinGecko showing open interest alone at $8,918,823,050, nearly five times the spot book’s daily turnover.
- Verification behaviour grew faster than the balance sheet, with ZK verification usage up 386% year over year.
- OKX Europe Limited has held a MiCA licence since 27 January 2025, covering users in all 30 EEA member states under one regulated entity.
- Custody concentrates heavily on two chains, with Ethereum at $13.89 billion and Bitcoin at $11.228 billion of the DefiLlama-tracked balance.
Editor’s Choice
- Latest Proof of Reserves total: $22.96 billion in primary assets, verified August 11, 2026.
- Prior report total: $23,122,555,086 across BTC, ETH, USDT, and USDC in the 45th report.
- Perpetuals turnover: $21,932,962,289 in 24 hours across 695 pairs.
- On-chain assets tracked: $30.318 billion across DefiLlama’s chain coverage.
- Market breadth: 302 listed coins and 1,214 spot trading pairs.
- Exchange age: established in 2017, carrying a CoinGecko Trust Score of 10/10.
OKX Proof of Reserves Totals by Report
- OKX reported total primary assets of $30.8 billion in its 26th report, published on December 31, 2024.
- The 29th report, audited by Hacken, showed $24.6 billion in primary assets and growth since March 2024 of 11%.
- The 36th report marked the program’s three-year anniversary with $35.4 billion in primary assets, a 75% increase compared to the year prior.
- The 45th report put on-chain wallet holdings at $23,122,555,086 combined across BTC, ETH, USDT, and USDC.
- The current report lands lower again, at $22.96 billion.
- OKX publishes each of these as a monthly report, the 45th in an unbroken monthly run, and each one is independently audited and verified by blockchain security firm Hacken.
| Report | Date reported | Primary assets | Change stated by OKX |
|---|---|---|---|
| 26th | December 31, 2024 | $30.8 billion | Up 106% since December 2023 |
| 29th | March 31, 2025 | $24.6 billion | Up 11% since March 2024 |
| 36th | Three-year PoR anniversary | $35.4 billion | Up 75% versus the year prior |
| 45th | July 30, 2026 | $23,122,555,086 | Not disclosed |
| 46th | August 11, 2026 | $22.96 billion | Not disclosed |
Source: OKX Proof of Reserves reports 26, 29, 36, 45 and 46, 2024-2026
The takeaway: OKX’s primary-asset total moved in both directions across the five reports on record, peaking at the three-year mark before settling at $22.96 billion. The monthly disclosure cadence never broke over that stretch, which makes the shape of the series a more useful signal than any single month.
OKX Reserve Ratios by Asset
- Bitcoin carries the widest buffer at a 111% reserve ratio in the August 2026 report.
- XRP follows at 108%, with Solana at 104%.
- The dollar stablecoins sit closer to parity, with USDT at 106% and USDC at 101%.
- OKB, the exchange’s own token, reports exactly 100%, the thinnest margin in the set.
- Bitcoin’s ratio held at 105% as recently as the 36th report, so the current 111% reading is a widening, not a constant.
- OKX states that it holds enough assets for a 1:1 reserve ratio and publishes reserve reports for 22 coins.
Reserve headroom widened while the dollar total shrank, which points at liabilities falling faster than assets rather than to fresh deposits arriving. Across CoinLaw’s exchange coverage, that combination usually reads as customer withdrawals rather than balance-sheet strengthening.
Recent Developments
- August 11, 2026: In August 2026, OKX verified its 46th Proof of Reserves at $22.96 billion in primary assets.
- August 7, 2026: OKX updated the 45th Proof of Reserves article first published on July 30, 2026.
- July 1, 2026: The MiCA transitional period ended, after which any exchange without a MiCA licence is operating illegally in the EU.
- May 2026: Several major exchanges still did not hold a valid, active MiCA licence covering European users.
- September 8, 2026: OKX’s perpetuals venue showed $8,918,823,050 in 24-hour open interest on CoinGecko.
- September 8, 2026: DefiLlama tracked $30.318 billion in OKX-attributed on-chain assets.
OKX Trading Volume, Spot Against Perpetuals
- OKX’s perpetuals venue reported $21,932,962,289 in 24-hour trading volume.
- Spot turnover over the same window came to $1,833,985,162.
- Open interest on the perpetuals book stood at $8,918,823,050, a standing position larger than four days of spot turnover.
- The single busiest contract was BTC-USDT-SWAP, with $5,127,085,662 in 24-hour volume and $2,208,093,901 in open interest.
- OKX’s weighting toward derivatives is the structural fact that shapes every other number on the platform.
OKX Exchange Statistics: Coins, Pairs and Trust Score
- CoinGecko lists OKX with 302 coins and 1,214 trading pairs on the spot venue.
- The perpetuals venue adds 695 pairs on top of that.
- CoinGecko scores the exchange at 10/10 on Trust Score, its top band.
- That score is calculated from metrics such as liquidity, scale of operations, and cybersecurity score, not from self-reported volume alone.
- OKX has operated since 2017, which puts it among the older venues still running at scale.
How good is OKX exchange?
Measured on what a data page can verify, OKX scores well. CoinGecko rates the exchange 10/10 on Trust Score, calculated from metrics such as liquidity, scale of operations, and cybersecurity score rather than self-reported volume, and OKX reported over 100% reserves across the 22 most commonly traded assets. Neither measure captures customer support, fee competitiveness, or regional availability.
OKX On-Chain Assets by Blockchain
- DefiLlama attributes $30.318 billion in total assets to OKX across its tracked chains.
- Ethereum carries the largest share at $13.89 billion.
- Bitcoin follows at $11.228 billion, with X Layer, OKX’s own chain, third at $2.753 billion.
- Solana holdings come to $819.26 million, ahead of Tron at $491.65 million.
- The long tail runs thin, with Litecoin at $144.2 million and TON at $26.63 million.
- Polygon sits at the bottom of the tracked set with $2.38, effectively a dust balance.
Key finding: Per DefiLlama’s chain-level tracking, Ethereum at $13.89 billion and Bitcoin at $11.228 billion account for most of the $30.318 billion attributed to OKX. X Layer, the exchange’s own network, holds $2.753 billion, ahead of Solana at $819.26 million.
Is OKX a Chinese company?
DefiLlama’s exchange record describes OKX, formerly known as OKEx, as a Seychelles-based cryptocurrency exchange and derivatives exchange. OKX’s European business runs through a separate legal entity, OKX Europe Limited, authorised by the Malta Financial Services Authority, and its United States operations run from a regional headquarters in San Jose, California.
OKX Primary Asset Composition
- USDT is the single largest primary holding at $9,776,273,021, carrying a 112% reserve ratio in the 45th report.
- Bitcoin holdings came to $8,625,966,590 at a 105% reserve ratio.
- Ethereum accounted for $3,187,525,086 at 103%.
- USDC was the smallest of the four at $1,532,790,389 at 101%.
- The mix has shifted: in March 2025, BTC holdings of $11.6 billion exceeded USDT holdings of $8.2 billion, the reverse of the current split.
OKX Proof of Reserves Verification Engagement
- OKX reported that visits to ‘View My Audit’ are up 123% year over year.
- Actual cryptographic checking grew faster still, with ZK verification usage up 386%.
- The exchange cut proof files from 2.55 GB to 598 KB, which is what made local verification practical.
- By the 26th report, over two million people had used the PoR verification tool.
- OKX has also opened its GitHub so anyone can verify outputs, and each report is independently audited and verified by blockchain security firm Hacken.
| Verification metric | Reported figure |
|---|---|
| View-My-Audit visits | Up 123% year over year |
| ZK verification usage | Up 386% |
| Proof file size | Cut from 2.55 GB to 598 KB |
| People who have used the tool | Over two million by the 26th report |
Source: OKX Proof of Reserves reports 26 and 36, 2024-2025
About This Data
- Compiled from 12 captured sources: 10 primary company or on-chain disclosures and 2 recognised market-data platforms.
- Source publication window runs from December 2024 to September 2026.
- A source is qualified only if the specific figure was freely visible and retrievable at capture.
- Figures are updated when the underlying sources publish new editions rather than on a fixed calendar.
OKX MiCA Licence Scope and EEA Coverage
- OKX Europe Limited is authorised as a Crypto-Asset Services Provider by the Malta Financial Services Authority, a licence received on 27 January 2025.
- The authorisation covers nine of the ten MiCA-authorised services, including custody, execution, exchange operations, transfers, and settlement under Regulation (EU) 2023/1114.
- It is passportable across all 30 European Economic Area member states, which removes the need for country-by-country approval.
- Institutional clients can hold assets off-exchange via selected regulated partners such as Standard Chartered Bank.
- OKX Europe also aligns with the Digital Operational Resilience Act, which defines EU standards for cybersecurity, continuity, and governance.
- Under MiCA, client funds are held in segregated accounts, separate from OKX’s own money.
| Licence attribute | Detail |
|---|---|
| Authorising regulator | Malta Financial Services Authority |
| Licence date | 27 January 2025 |
| MiCA services covered | 9 of 10 |
| EEA member states covered | 30 |
Source: OKX Europe MiCA disclosures, 2025-2026
What the 1 July 2026 MiCA Deadline Changes
- MiCA came into full effect on 30 December 2024 and applies across all 30 EEA member states.
- Existing exchanges were allowed to keep operating under previous national registrations for an 18-month transitional period.
- That window closed on 1 July 2026, after which any exchange without a MiCA licence is operating illegally in the EU, per ESMA’s December 2025 statement.
- A pending application does not help: MiCA Article 143(3) states the transitional permission ends either at the deadline or when an exchange is granted or refused its licence, whichever comes first.
- Users left on unlicensed venues lose all legal safeguards after 1 July 2026.
- The perimeter is wide, since MiCA covers all 30 countries in the European Economic Area, all 27 EU member states plus Iceland, Norway, and Liechtenstein.
- Enforcement had teeth well before the date, because as of May 2026, several major exchanges did not hold a valid, active MiCA licence covering European users.
- OKX cleared this gate early, holding a full MiCA licence from the Malta Financial Services Authority since 27 January 2025.
Why it matters: ESMA confirmed in December 2025 that the 1 July 2026 deadline carries no extension, and MiCA Article 143(3) ends transitional permission on grant or refusal, whichever lands first. For a European trader, an exchange’s licence date has become the single cheapest proxy for whether their funds sit inside the regulated perimeter.
OKB Token Metrics
- OKB’s market capitalisation stands at $2.403 billion, matching its fully diluted valuation.
- The token trades at $114.43, against an all-time high of $228.74.
- Its all-time low of $0.58 sets the other end of the range.
- Daily turnover splits across venues, with $22.62 million on centralised exchanges and $7.48 million on decentralised ones, or 24.55% of the total.
OKX in the United States
- OKX launched a centralized crypto exchange and OKX Wallet in the United States, with regional headquarters in San Jose, California.
- Existing customers of its predecessor were set to follow, as OKCoin customers would be migrated to the OKX platform.
- The rollout was staged, beginning with a phased rollout for new customers rather than a nationwide switch-on.
- The wallet reaches further than the exchange, supporting over 130 blockchains with a DEX aggregator for access to over 10 million tokens across Ethereum, Solana, Base, and beyond.
- US customers can buy, sell, and convert top cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin, Ethereum, USDT, and USDC with local bank integrations. Wallet coverage that wide also reaches NFT markets on the same chains.
| US launch attribute | Detail |
|---|---|
| Regional headquarters | San Jose, California |
| Planned customer migration | OKCoin customers |
| Blockchains supported by OKX Wallet | Over 130 |
| Tokens reachable via DEX aggregator | Over 10 million |
Source: OKX US launch announcement, April 2025
Is OKX allowed in the US?
OKX launched its centralized crypto exchange and OKX Wallet in the United States, with regional headquarters in San Jose, California, and existing OKCoin customers would be migrated to the OKX platform. The company began with a phased rollout for new customers, with a broader nationwide launch planned later that year. Availability has therefore tracked the stage of that rollout rather than a single switch-on date.
What Are the Risks of Using OKX?
The measurable risks are custody concentration and reserve thinness at the margin. OKB, the exchange’s own token, reports a 100% reserve ratio in the August 2026 report, the only covered asset with no buffer above parity. Ethereum at $13.89 billion and Bitcoin at $11.228 billion make up most of the $30.318 billion DefiLlama attributes to OKX, so a single-chain incident would reach a wide share of customer balances.
Regulatory exposure runs the other way for European users. OKX Europe Limited holds a MiCA licence, and client funds are held in segregated accounts, separate from OKX’s own money. Trading still requires KYC checks, and crypto and digital asset holdings, including stablecoins, involve a high degree of risk and can fluctuate greatly.
Is OKX a Safe Exchange?
On the evidence a reader can check independently, OKX’s disclosure record is strong. OKX’s first Proof of Reserves report went out in November 2022, and the 45th was the latest in an unbroken monthly run, each one independently audited and verified by blockchain security firm Hacken. OKX cut proof files from 2.55 GB to 598 KB and opened its GitHub so anyone can verify outputs.
Disclosure is not the same as a guarantee. A reserve ratio proves what the exchange held at a verification date, not what it holds today, and the 46th report’s $22.96 billion sits below the $35.4 billion reported at the three-year mark.
Conclusion
OKX’s numbers describe a venue that trades far more than it custodies and discloses far more than most of its peers. The 46th Proof of Reserves report at $22.96 billion sits well below the $35.4 billion peak, while Bitcoin’s reserve ratio widened to 111% and perpetuals volume of $21,932,962,289 dwarfed the $1,833,985,162 spot book. Traders and analysts comparing venues get the most from the reserve series rather than from any single month.
The European picture is the one to watch next. The MiCA transitional period ended on 1 July 2026, and ESMA confirmed in December 2025 that there would be no extension, so an exchange’s licence status now decides whether it can serve EEA users at all. OKX Europe Limited has held its MFSA licence since 27 January 2025.