Gate’s registered user base surpassed 60 million on 2 September 2026. The platform reports total reserves of $8.215 billion at an overall reserve ratio of 127%. Those are the exchange’s own figures, published in its own announcements. The independent trackers that watch the same wallets arrive somewhere else: DefiLlama measures $7.052 billion of assets and $5.977 billion of clean assets for the venue.
That spread is the useful part. A reserve ratio shows how well the balance sheet covers customer liabilities. It says nothing about the size of that balance sheet, and it comes from the party being measured. The Gate.io statistics below cover user growth, reserve composition, spot and derivatives volume, fee tiers, token burn, and licensing, with each measurement attributed to whoever produced it.
Key Takeaways
- Total reserves stood at $9.478 billion with an overall coverage ratio of 125% on 6 January 2026, then fell to $8.182 billion with a reserve ratio of 115% by the end of June.
- DefiLlama’s independent tracking puts Gate at $7.052 billion in assets, falling to $5.977 billion once clean assets are isolated, against the exchange’s own reported figure.
- CoinGecko lists Gate’s 24-hour spot volume at $1,162,687,487 with a 10/10 Trust Score, while the same board shows Binance at $7,952,155,870.
- Gate holds $12.171 billion of 24-hour open interest against $1.157 billion of spot volume, an average leverage of 2.04x, the highest reading among the largest venues DefiLlama tracks.
- Futures volume reached $276 billion in July, capturing a 9.08% market share, while open interest market share rose to 11.2%.
- A cumulative 189,947,219 GT has been permanently burned, reducing total token supply by approximately 63.32% from its original supply of 300 million tokens.
Editor’s Choice
- Digital assets listed: more than 5,000 tradable digital assets.
- Stocks and ETFs: 12,800 equity and fund instruments.
- Peak weekly CFD volume: weekly trading volume surpassing $150 billion at its peak.
- Simple Earn subscriptions: exceeded $41 billion in total across 2025.
- SpaceX Pre-IPO demand: cumulative subscriptions exceeding $396 million for SpaceX (SPCX).
- Entry spot fee: 0.1% maker and 0.1% taker at the VIP0 tier.
Gate.io Statistics: User Growth and Platform Scale
- Gate’s October 2025 filing put it at over 39 million users, ranking among the top 3 crypto exchanges worldwide by market share.
- Registered users passed 50 million by early March 2026, a milestone Gate framed as a shift from scale expansion toward operational maturity.
- Spot-market coverage stood at over 4,400 cryptocurrencies in March and reached more than 4,900 digital assets by early August.
- Equity coverage arrived with it: 12,500 stock assets appeared in the Q2 report.
- Gate reports ranking second globally in spot liquidity and trading volume, top three in derivatives trading, and top three in open interest (OI) market share.
- CoinGecko’s own profile lists 1,556 coins and 1,702 pairs on the venue, a narrower count than the platform’s headline asset figure.
| Reference point | Registered users | Digital assets listed | Stocks and ETFs |
|---|---|---|---|
| October 2025 | over 39 million | not stated | not offered |
| March 2026 | 50 million | over 4,400 | not stated |
| Q2 2026 (June) | 58 million | more than 4,800 | 12,500 |
| August 2026 | more than 58 million | more than 4,900 | over 12,500 |
| September 2026 | 60 million | more than 5,000 | 12,800 |
Source: Gate official announcements and quarterly reports, October 2025 to September 2026
User counts are the cheapest number an exchange can grow and the hardest one an outsider can audit. Registrations are not accounts in use, and no third party publishes a competing figure. The reserve series is where the platform becomes checkable.
Gate Proof of Reserves Ratio Through 2026
- Total reserves reached $9.478 billion on 6 January 2026, the highest dollar figure Gate published during the year.
- By 22 June the balance had fallen to $8.182 billion, a drop of roughly $1.3 billion across five and a half months.
- The 19 August report put reserves at $8.215 billion, nearly flat against June even as the coverage ratio climbed 12 points.
- Coverage spans nearly 500 different user assets across the reporting period.
- Beyond the majors, GT and XRP maintained reserve ratios well above the 100% benchmark, reaching 131.15% and 116.09% in the August report.
Worth noting: Gate’s coverage ratio rose from 115% in June to 127% in August while total reserves moved only from $8.182 billion to $8.215 billion. The ratio measures reserves against customer liabilities, so it climbs when user balances fall. A rising ratio is not evidence of a growing platform.
Recent Developments
- 2 September 2026: Registered users passed 60 million, with asset coverage extended to RWA, foreign exchange, precious metals and commodities.
- 24 August 2026: The proof-of-reserves report recorded an aggregate stablecoin reserve ratio of 111.63% across USDT, USDC, USD1 and GUSD.
- 13 August 2026: July figures showed event contract market share once exceeding 36%, a record for the product.
- 3 August 2026: Gate cited DefiLlama data placing it sixth among global centralized exchanges (CEXs) by assets.
- 22 July 2026: The Q2 report disclosed ETF quarterly trading volume approaching $60 billion, representing more than 40% quarter-over-quarter growth.
- February 2026: The Malta entity obtained a Payment Institution license under the EU’s Second Payment Services Directive (PSD2).
Gate Spot Trading Volume Against Rival Exchanges
- CoinGecko’s exchange page records $1,162,191,553 of 24-hour trading volume on the spot market, moving 24.4% over the same window.
- CoinMarketCap measures the same day slightly lower at $1,141,836,240.71, equivalent to 14,269 BTC.
- DefiLlama’s own spot-volume column puts the venue at $1.157 billion, within 2% of both other trackers.
- Gate’s March 2026 announcement claimed 24-hour spot trading volume ranking second worldwide, a placement none of the three trackers reproduces.
- CoinGecko awards the venue a 10/10 Trust Score, its algorithm for evaluating the legitimacy of an exchange’s reported volume.
- The exchange’s fee take is set at 0.10% on the headline schedule, before tier discounts.
Every figure on that board is reported volume. The venue publishes the number, and the tracker scores its plausibility rather than rebuilding it independently.
Wash trading is the standing caveat across the category. CoinGecko’s Trust Score is the only legitimacy signal any of these three trackers publishes, so treat a 10/10 as an audit of methodology rather than proof that every fill was arm’s length.
The wider crypto exchanges dataset shows the same reporting gap across the venue set.
What are the top 3 crypto exchanges?
Coinbase Exchange, Binance, and Kraken occupy the first three positions on CoinGecko’s Trust Score board, each carrying a 10/10 Trust Score, with Gate ranked fifth. Ordering there reflects liquidity, scale of operations, and cybersecurity scoring rather than raw volume, which is why Binance’s $7,952,155,870 sits second rather than first.
Gate Bitcoin Reserve Holdings
- User bitcoin balances climbed from 17,216 BTC in the report before June to 22,436 BTC by mid-August, a gain of just over 5,200 coins.
- Platform reserves moved in step, reaching 27,550 BTC against user holdings in the August disclosure.
- The buffer compressed too: an excess reserve ratio of 32.73% in June became 22.79% in August.
- Bitcoin sits inside coverage that Gate reports across nearly 500 user assets in total.
- The July disclosure sat between the two at an excess reserve ratio of 24.2%, so the buffer narrowed in each successive report.
A falling excess ratio on a rising reserve balance means customer deposits grew faster than the buffer did. That is the normal shape of a bull-phase inflow, not a warning sign on its own, but it is the number to watch across the next two reports.
Gate Ethereum and Stablecoin Reserve Holdings
- User ether balances rose from 344,935 ETH in June to 375,429 ETH in August.
- Platform ether reserves tracked upward to 458,203 ETH, holding an excess reserve ratio of 22.05%.
- Stablecoin user assets grew from $1.336 billion in the previous report to $1.578 billion across USDT, USDC, USD1 and GUSD.
- Matching platform reserves rose to $1.761 billion, an aggregate reserve ratio of 111.63%.
- The July report had shown a wider stablecoin cushion at an aggregate reserve ratio of 118.97%, so the buffer narrowed as balances grew.
- GUSD subscriptions have surpassed 224 million GUSD, carrying an annualized yield of 3.8%.
Reserve growth in BTC and ETH has been the steadier half of the disclosure; the stablecoin cushion has moved more.
Gate Derivatives Volume and Open Interest Share
- Gate reported its futures market share rising to 10.6%, officially entering the double-digit tier and marking the largest year-on-year market share increase among exchanges across 2025.
- February 2026 put the derivatives volume share at approximately 11% on Gate’s own reporting.
- Gate’s June transparency report put the venue at a 10.8% share of global open interest, ranking as the world’s third-largest derivatives exchange.
- July futures volume reached $276 billion, with a 9.08% market share of the category.
- Open interest share moved the other way, with Gate’s July report putting it at 11.2%, ranking among the top two retail-focused platforms that month.
- Industry-wide RWA perpetual volume hit a record high of $460 billion in July, of which Gate took a 4.39% market share.
By the numbers: Gate reported $276 billion of July futures volume at a 9.08% market share while its open interest share reached 11.2%. Positions held on the venue outweigh the flow that creates them, which is the signature of a book weighted toward carry rather than turnover.
Gate Open Interest Against Spot Volume
- DefiLlama records $12.171 billion of 24-hour open interest against $1.157 billion of spot volume on the same snapshot.
- That ratio resolves to an average leverage of 2.04x, the second-highest figure on the tracker’s centralized-exchange board.
- Binance, the largest venue by tracked assets, runs at 0.23x on the same measure, roughly one-ninth of Gate’s reading.
- MEXC is the only venue above it at 2.56x, with Bitget at 1.56x and KuCoin at 1.62x.
- Bybit sits just above it at $13.084 billion of open interest, despite holding more than twice the tracked assets.
- Net flows have been positive but small, at $18.26 million over 24 hours and $17.09 million over seven days, against $539.47 million over one month.
This is the structural fact the marketing does not lead with. Measured by what actually sits on the books, Gate is a derivatives venue with a spot storefront attached, and the risk profile of the customer base follows from that rather than from the headline user count. The same skew shows up across the exchange market share data for mid-tier venues.
Gate Tracked Balances Against Reported Reserves
- Gate’s own August disclosure reports a total reserve volume of $8.215 billion covering nearly 500 user assets.
- DefiLlama’s tracked figure for the same venue is $7.052 billion, roughly $1.16 billion below the reported number.
- Stripping to clean assets takes it to $5.977 billion, a further haircut of about $1.08 billion.
- CoinMarketCap’s reserve page lists $6,769,603,500.75, flagged on the page as reported directly by the exchange.
- The haircut is not unique to this venue: Bitfinex shows $19.16 billion of assets against $13.017 billion of clean assets on the same board.
- Binance, the largest venue tracked, carries $170.295 billion of assets and $143.224 billion of clean assets.
| Measurement | Reported by | Value |
|---|---|---|
| Proof of Reserves, 19 August 2026 | Gate | $8.215 billion |
| Tracked assets | DefiLlama | $7.052 billion |
| Tracked clean assets | DefiLlama | $5.977 billion |
| Tracked reserves | CoinMarketCap | $6,769,603,500.75 |
Source: Gate, DefiLlama and CoinMarketCap data, September 2026
Clean assets strip out balances an exchange holds in its own token, which is why the gap widens on venues with a large native-token float.
None of these three numbers is wrong. They answer different questions. Only the smallest describes assets an outsider can see on-chain and value independently of the issuer.
Anyone sizing counterparty exposure should work from that column rather than the press release. Patterns in crypto security and fraud statistics show how fast the distinction matters when a venue comes under stress.
Gate Spot Trading Fees by VIP Tier
- Paying fees in the platform token cuts the entry rate to 0.09% maker and 0.09% taker at VIP0.
- The top tier pays 0.0175% to take and nothing to make, with the GT schedule matching the standard one there.
- Points Deduction overrides the ladder at Maker 0.2%; Taker 0.2%, regardless of VIP tier.
- The futures taker rate under the same setting is pinned at 0.075%.
- Daily withdrawal capacity scales with the tier, from 3,000,000 at VIP0 to 50,000,000 at VIP16.
- Institutional status is automatic for accounts whose API trading volume accounts for at least 60%, or who have reached VIP tier 15 or 16.
The ladder is flat through the first four tiers and only bites past VIP10, which puts the effective discount out of reach for anyone trading BTC/USDT at retail size.
GateToken Burn and Supply Reduction
- The cumulative burn is worth more than $1.311 billion based on the average quarterly price at each event.
- Burns have cut circulating supply by approximately 63.32% from its original supply of 300 million tokens.
- Airdrops ran the other way: HODLer Airdrop and CandyDrop accumulated 760 million GT across 2025.
- Those two programs launched over 300 projects during the year, attracting more than 15 million participations, distributing over $18 million in rewards.
- The token’s own coverage stayed well above the 100% benchmark, reaching 131.13% on the July disclosure.
- Q2 CandyDrop activity alone generated nearly $38 billion in futures trading volume.
| GateToken supply metric | Amount (GT) |
|---|---|
| Original total supply | 300,000,000 |
| Cumulative burned to date | 189,947,219 |
| Burned during Q2 2026 | 2,570,063.3829548 |
Source: Gate Q2 2026 quarterly report, July 2026
Burn programs are the standard deflationary lever across exchange tokens, and the cryptocurrency market data shows how unevenly that mechanic translates into price support.
Gate Regulatory Licences by Jurisdiction
- Malta’s MiCA authorisation runs to provide exchange and custody services to its clients under MFSA supervision.
- It went to a group Gate reported as ranking among the top 3 crypto exchanges worldwide by market share and serving over 39 million users at the time.
- Gate Europe has started the process to passport it across Europe following the grant.
- Approvals now span Malta, the Bahamas, Japan, Australia, and Dubai, with the Maltese PSD2 payment licence added in February 2026 and AUSTRAC registration live since November 2025.
- Gate Group’s founder framed the licence programme this way: We have always adhered to a compliance-first strategy, and Malta is undoubtedly one of the most forward-looking jurisdictions in the global crypto industry.
| Date | Regulator or jurisdiction | Authorisation |
|---|---|---|
| 2024 | Japan | Acquisition of a Japan-licensed exchange |
| April 2025 | VARA, Dubai | Full operational licence |
| October 2025 | MFSA, Malta | MiCA licence |
| November 2025 | AUSTRAC, Australia | Digital Currency Exchange Provider registration |
| February 2026 | MFSA, Malta | Payment Institution licence under PSD2 |
Source: CoinMarketCap exchange profile and Gate announcements, 2024 to 2026
Key finding: Four separate authorisations landed inside eleven months, from the VARA licence in April 2025 to the PSD2 payment licence in February 2026. The MiCA grant is the load-bearing one, because passporting turns a single Maltese authorisation into access across the EU and EEA rather than a country-by-country build.
Gate Stock and ETF Coverage by Market
- Equity trading runs on a 24/7 stock trading system covering the U.S., Hong Kong, South Korean, and Japanese markets.
- Fractional access starts at a minimum investment of 0.01 shares.
- SpaceX Pre-IPO subscriptions reached more than $143 million through IPO Access offerings alongside the primary allocation.
- The ETF pair count stood at 356 at the end of June, before the July expansion.
- ETF coverage expanded to 386 trading pairs, with a turnover of approximately $20 billion in July.
- CFD listings reached 663 tradable assets by the end of Q2.
| Market | Listed stocks and ETFs |
|---|---|
| United States | more than 10,000 |
| Hong Kong | 1,500+ |
| South Korea | 1,000+ |
| Japan | about 300 |
Source: Gate 60 million user announcement, September 2026
Gate Earn, Staking and Prediction Market Volumes
- GUSD on-chain yield scaled through 2025, with assets under management surpassing $300 million within the year.
- Prediction markets generated monthly Prediction Market trading volume of $280 million in June.
- Event contract market share briefly passed 36% in July, a record for the product line.
- Launchpool yields peaked at exceeding 260% annualized during Q2.
- Institutional spot trading volume rose 49.39% month-over-month in June.
| Product line | Measure | Value |
|---|---|---|
| Simple Earn subscriptions, full-year 2025 | Cumulative subscriptions | exceeded $41 billion |
| Staking, June 2026 | Total value locked | $1.154 billion |
| Prediction markets, June 2026 | Monthly volume | $280 million |
| ETF, Q2 2026 | Quarterly volume | approached $60 billion |
| Gate Perp DEX, first three months | Cumulative volume | surpassed $24 billion |
Source: Gate annual, quarterly and transparency reports, 2025 to July 2026
New-listing velocity through Launchpool and CandyDrop is what keeps the venue’s altcoin inventory ahead of its larger rivals.
Is Gate a Tier 1 Crypto Exchange?
No industry body issues a formal tier-one designation, so the question resolves to whichever measurable proxy you accept. On CoinGecko’s methodology, which weighs liquidity, scale of operations, and cybersecurity scoring, Gate carries a 10/10 Trust Score, the same band as Coinbase Exchange, Binance, and Kraken.
On balance-sheet size, the answer is narrower. DefiLlama ranks the venue sixth among global centralized exchanges (CEXs) by assets, with tracked clean assets of $5.977 billion against Binance’s $143.224 billion. Top-ten by every public measure, top-three by none of the independent ones: that is the honest read, and it differs from the platform’s own framing.
Is Gate a Chinese Company?
CoinGecko’s exchange profile lists the venue’s Incorporation Country Code as Panama, not China. The corporate history explains the confusion: the exchange originally launched as Bter (or Bter.com) in 2013 and was rebranded to Gate.io in late 2017.
The current name dates from a later change. In 2025, the group announced a major brand upgrade, introducing a brand new Chinese name “Damen”, and adopting the new international domain Gate.com. Regulated activity now sits in Maltese, Emirati, Japanese, and Australian entities rather than a mainland Chinese one.
Conclusion
Gate closed the summer reporting 60 million registered users and $8.215 billion of reserves at a 127% ratio, while DefiLlama’s independent tracking of the same venue put clean assets at $5.977 billion. Both numbers are real, and the distance between them is the most useful thing on the page: one measures what the exchange says it holds against customer liabilities, the other measures what an outside observer can see and value without taking the issuer’s word for it.
The structural read matters more than either headline. An exchange carrying $12.171 billion of open interest against $1.157 billion of daily spot turnover is running a leveraged book, and its risk profile tracks that skew rather than its registration count. Anyone using these figures for counterparty analysis should watch the excess reserve ratio and the clean-asset column across the next two disclosures, since both moved materially within a single quarter.